STAFF PICKSTechno (Peak Time / Driving)

Steyoyoke Black Reconstructed EP [Steyoyoke Black] (PROMO)


Steyoyoke Recordings are well known for their constant innovation and this new project arrives with much excitement. ‘Steyoyoke Black Reconstructed’ is designed to enable artists to delve into past Steyoyoke Black releases and rework them with their own personal touch. First up are Animal Picnic, who revisit two memorable tracks, Dahu’s ‘Ruin’ and Nick Devon’s ‘Don’t Be Afraid’.

Animal Picnic’s rendition of ‘Ruin’ maintains a perpetual vibe, which is derived directly from the original. Right from the get go, the bass line settles into an unyielding rhythm, bountiful of techno grooves and tough percussion. The breakdown then allows for the underlying melody to briefly shine through, before succumbing to its previous momentum.

Splicing the old with the new, this version of ‘Don’t Be Afraid’ establishes a more subtle build of intensity. The mood is set with an eerie presence and heightened with severe yet passionate chord changes that embellish the entire track. The echoing vocals from Benji also empower this remix, ascertaining an audio delight of malicious beauty.

Artist: Dahu, Nick Devon, Animal Picnic
Title: Steyoyoke Reconstructed by Animal Picnic
Label: Steyoyoke Black
Format: Digital
Digital Release Date: May 18th, 2015
Cat No: SYYKBLK007

More From This Label


01. Dahu – Ruin (Animal Picnic Remix)
02. Nick Devon – Don’t Be Afraid feat. Benji (Animal Picnic Remix)

SUPPORTED AND PLAYED BY : Maceo Plex, Hernan Cattaneo, Thyladomid, Dave Seaman, HearThuG, Acid Pauli, Eelke Kleijn, Stacey Pullen, Paco Osuna, JOBE, Darlyn Vlys, Lane 8, Luis Leon, Marc DePulse, Pete Oak, Patrick Podage, Habischman, Aaryon, Sasch BBC, Chris Fortier, Just Her, Djuma Soundsystem, Sammy W & Alex E, BLANCAh, Nick Devon, MPathy, NOTIZE many more…



Back to top button