in ,

Leafcutter John – Yes! Come Parade With Us / 52BCCDD

Download Leafcutter John - Yes! Come Parade With Us on Electrobuzz

RELEASE: Yes! Come Parade With Us
ARTIST(S): Leafcutter John


LABEL: Border Community / 52BCCDD
GENRE: AIFF, Electronica / Downtempo
RELEASED: 2019-04-19


  1. Leafcutter John – Doing The Beeston Bump (Original Mix) (06:41) / Dmin, 164bpm
  2. Leafcutter John – Yes! Come Parade With Us (Original Mix) (04:55) / C♯maj, 112bpm
  3. Leafcutter John – Pillar (Original Mix) (08:24) / Cmin, 131bpm
  4. Leafcutter John – Elephant Bones (Original Mix) (04:45) / Fmaj, 124bpm
  5. Leafcutter John – Stepper Motor (Original Mix) (05:39) / Emaj, 90bpm
  6. Leafcutter John – This Way Out (Original Mix) (05:53) / D♯min, 136bpm
  7. Leafcutter John – Dunes (Original Mix) (07:59) / C♯maj, 126bpm

Total Playtime: 00:44:16 min

On the auspicious occasion of the release of his mystical seventh artist album, technological force-of-nature Leafcutter John teams up with fellow stalwarts of idiosyncratic electronica Border Community to gift unto the world the small-yet-perfectly-formed joyously utopian artefact Yes! Come Parade With Us. Weaving field recordings from the Norfolk coastline together with layers of lyrical modular synth, these seven bright-eyed folk anthems sing with positivity and a sense of place, and feel right at home amongst the British label’s unparalleled ever-pastoral and often organic electronic legacy.

During the summer of 2017 exiled Yorkshireman Leafcutter John returned to his one-time home of Norfolk (having graduated in Painting from Norwich’s School of Art and Design back in 1998) and set out on foot along the sixty mile section of Norfolk Coast Path which runs from Hunstanton to Overstrand, trusty audio recording device in his pocket. “And very soon the physical act of walking began to make me think about music,” he explains. “My footsteps dictated the tempo and imagined melodies accompanied me as I slowly moved along the increasingly wild and magical stretch of coastline. Stresses of the city were replaced by the fall and rise of the North Sea and endless salt flats. Sounds from the environment filtered in and I would stop often to record what I was hearing around me.”

Back home in London, the hours of amassed field recordings would form the backbone and inspiration for a whole album worth of outpourings from John’s six-years-in-the-making modular synth. From the evocative sound of sea birds on Pillar and Stepper Motor to the colourful conversation from a country pub in This Way Out, the apposite selection of samples which made the final edit provide the perfect jumping-off point for John’s synths to soar with abandon, at times uplifting, frenetic, haunting, hypnotic or meditative, but always atmospheric and with unstoppable propulsion.

“Above all else, I wanted the album to exude a sense of constant forward motion but at a very human scale,” says John. Thus drummer friends Tom Skinner (Hello Skinny) and Sebastian Rochford (long-time collaborator in the twice Mercury Prize nominated band Polar Bear) were roped in to lend their suitably clattering human momentum, on Doing The Beeston Bump and Dunes respectively. Working in tempos to match his walking speed throughout – “whether trudging along a rainy shingle beach or running up wildflowering clifftop paths” – Yes! Come Parade With Us is perfect traveling music, and once unleashed upon the world is sure to provide the soundtrack to plenty more journeys to come.

Beginning his own musical journey back in 1999 on Mike Paradinas’ Planet Mu Records and with a widely-varied twenty year career in electronic music already under his belt, the release of his masterful seventh album sees Leafcutter John on career-defining form. An intensely personal project, John has also hand-drawn the labyrinthine album art and animated his own suitably exuberant rainbow-hued video to accompany the boundless enthusiasm of restorative title track Yes! Come Parade With Us. The resultant album gem is both assuredly successful in his stated aim of capturing “both the rugged beauty of the environment and the positivity I felt walking through it” and incredibly infectious, with a harmonious utopian outlook which cannot help but rub off on the listener.

play Download Direct Downloads
Lossless file available for that release!
Get Points For Lossless link Now

What do you think?

54 points
Upvote Downvote

Steffen Deux, Fabe (Ger) – Nine / AVOTRE063

Lauren Flax – One Man’s House Is Another Woman’s Techno / 193483613161