in , ,

Memoryman Aka Uovo, Rogue D – Electric Safari EP (+Roman Flügel Remix) / CRM260

Download Electric Safari EP on Electrobuzz

RELEASE: Electric Safari EP
ARTIST(S): Memoryman Aka Uovo, Rogue D

REMIXERS: Roman Flügel

LABEL: Crosstown Rebels | CRM260
RELEASED: 2021-09-10


  1. Memoryman Aka Uovo, Rogue D – Electric Safari (07:26) key, bpm121
  2. Memoryman Aka Uovo, Rogue D – Electric Safari (Roman Flügel Remix) (05:41) key, bpm121
  3. Memoryman Aka Uovo, Rogue D – Electric Safari (Dub Mix) (07:41) key, bpm121
  4. Memoryman Aka Uovo, Rogue D – Electric Safari (Roman Flügel Dub Mix) (05:06) key, bpm121

Total Playtime: 00:25:54 min

Rogue D & Memoryman AKA Uovo team up for their latest release with the Electric Safari EP. The four-tracker marks their collaborative debut on Crosstown Rebels, fresh from Total Black on Rebellion in 2019, and includes two remixes by longstanding German talent, Roman Flügel.

Both artists spoke of how the release came together, stating: “The effects part of DJ Harvey’s Berghain and the synths of Padlock inspired us. A mix of these two masterpieces came to us while we were performing and recording, helping us create a mix of afro, electric funk and dub. The result is a trip to Africa with DJ Harvey!”

That tribal sound is felt right from the get go, as rustling hats marry up next to whirring synth pulses throughout. Ethereal keys chime beside resonant kicks whilst bell-like tones march on in the background. Roman Flügel’s remix takes on a more minimal-inspired feel, where a punchy underlying bassline perfectly compliments the celestial chord solos, before proceedings get stripped back further on the B Side with a dub version of each track. Italian-native Rogue D is a well-loved figure in the contemporary house sphere. Renowned as one of half of Flashmob, his back-catalogue boasts EPs on an array of the scene’s leading labels, including Hot Creations, Crosstown Rebels and Defected to name a few. Fellow Italian-mainstay Memoryman AKA Uovo has garnered a global following in a career that spans decades. One third of the legendary Pastaboys collective, his productions have found a home on Snatch! Records and Rebellion in recent times. Roman Flügel has been a champion of Germany’s electronic music scene since the nineties. A prolific producer, the likes of Gerd Janson’s Running Back and Sven Väth’s Cocoon Recordings have welcomed his releases with open arms over the years.

What do you think?

85 Points
09 2021 346 091278755 Per Hammar, Olga Korol - Na Zare EP / DH007

Per Hammar, Olga Korol – Na Zare EP / DH007

09 2021 346 091779744 Dusky - Local Newspaper / 17STEPSLP001S3E

Dusky – Local Newspaper / 17STEPSLP001S3E